Teaser

A player removes a post defining out of bounds on his line of play

A player removes a post defining out of bounds on his line of play. He realises he has made a mistake and replaces it before playing his next stroke. What is the ruling?

Answer

The player was in breach of Rule 13-2 the moment he moved the post and there was nothing he could do to avoid the penalty. The replacement of the post before the next stroke was irrelevant.

  • Join The Irish Times on WhatsApp and stay up to date

  • What’s making headlines in the rugby world? Listen to The Counter Ruck podcast with Nathan Johns

  • Sign up for push alerts to get the best breaking news, analysis and comment delivered to your phone