Teaser

A player plays from a bunker and the ball lands on the grass bank of the bunker

A player plays from a bunker and the ball lands on the grass bank of the bunker. Before the ball comes to rest, the player swings his club into the sand, after which the ball rolls back into the bunker. Rule 134b prohibits touching the ground in a hazard when the ball lies in the hazard. Does the player incur a penalty under this rule, even though the ball was outside the bunker when the club was swung into the sand?

  • Join The Irish Times on WhatsApp and stay up to date

  • What’s making headlines in the rugby world? Listen to The Counter Ruck podcast with Nathan Johns

  • Sign up for push alerts to get the best breaking news, analysis and comment delivered to your phone